Testimonials

Red Ball Internet Centre, Moncton NB

“Our experience overall has been nothing but positive and we look forward to continued success in other projects over the coming years. I am pleased to provide a very positive recommendation for Nustadia and would encourage future clients to contact me should further details be required”.

     Ian R. Fowler
     Former Director of Community Development
     November 2002

 

Mohawk 4-Ice Centre, Hamilton ON

“A successful business plan was completed in October 2003. It was ratified by Hamilton City Council in February 2004. The Quad Facility (Mohawk 4) was completed December 2004.

Throughout this process Nustadia Recreation was professional in every respect. Their projections were not only creative but were bang on for accuracy. The Facility is flawless in its construction and its amenities. The Hamilton Minor Hockey Council would not hesitate to recommend Nustadia Recreation to any Organization /City that requires a facility built within budget, on time, with quality and an administration group that is knowledgeable and professional”.

     Peter Martin, President
     October 12, 2005

 

 Town of New Tecumseth Recreation Complex, New Tecumseth, ON

“As part of this exercise we have also followed up with other municipalities who have entered into similar arrangements with Nustadia / EllisDon. The feedback from those municipal units has been positive and the consortia have been given high marks. Their projects came in on time and on budget and the municipalities were satisfied with their management of the arenas. They are experienced and knowledgeable operators and have a strong understanding of the key factors which will lead to a successful project.”

     Grant Thornton, Peer Review
     February 2006

 

Sarnia Sports & Entertainment Centre, Sarnia ON

“To a lot of people, Toronto’s Air Canada Centre is not the most impressive hockey facility opened in Canada this season. In their minds you have to travel a few hundred kilometres west, to Sarnia, Ont. That’s where the Ontario Hockey League’s Sarnia Sting play in the Rolls-Royce of junior hockey arenas, the Sarnia Sports and Entertainment Centre”.

     The Globe and Mail
     February 26, 1999

 

Co-operator’s Centre – Evraz Place, Regina, SK

“We are pleased to provide this reference for Nustadia Recreation Inc. Evraz Place is currently undergoing a Revitalization Project – Phase One of our facilities…which involved the design and construction of a Multi- Purpose Arena complex which will house six rinks. Nustadia strengths:

  • Extensive experience in the project management and the operation of multi-pad arenas
  • They have an excellent list of “lessons learned” from past experience
  • Operating knowledge of the food and beverage line of business for multi-pad arenas
  • Operating models from other arenas
  • Extensive and current knowledge of furniture, fixtures and equipment requirements for multi-pads
  • Excellent knowledge of refrigeration and mechanical needs

Nustadia has been extremely helpful and very good to work with.”

     Mark Allan, Evraz Place President and CEO
     June 2008

 

Guelph Sports & Entertainment Centre, Guelph, ON

Guelph Storm Ltd., the owners and operators of the Guelph Storm Hockey Club, is pleased to give this letter of reference to any community, hockey team or user group planning to build a new facility or seeking a professional arena operator. The GSEC was designed and built under the direction of Nustadia Developments Ltd. and is a magnificent contemporary facility. This outstanding structure contributed to the Ontario Hockey League’s choice of Guelph as host of the 2002 Memorial Cup. This “state of the art” structure incorporates the finest in design. It clearly focuses on the creative use of space and in the best interest of patron comfort and safety.

Yours respectfully,

   Guelph Storm Ltd.
   James Rooney, President
  January 20, 2006

 

William P. Wilder Arena Complex, Toronto, ON

“In the summer of 2006, Upper Canada College began the lengthy process involved in the development of a LEED certified twin pad arena complex on our site in downtown Toronto. Critical to the success of this endeavour was hiring an owner’s representative with ample experience. Nustadia was an easy choice. Not only did they outshine the competition they also have a proven track record in arena management which allowed us to build a business model that maximized revenue immediately after construction was complete.

Nustadia, as a member of the Steering committee, was primarily responsible for providing critical evaluation of early concept drawings through to full construction drawings being finalized. On site supervision, payment certification and LEED implementation and verification were further opened and in six weeks Nustadia will have executed a significant FF&E component, hired and trained all of the staff and leased 95% of available ice so that we can hit the ground running and immediately reap the benefits of this new facility.

I can confidently say that Nustadia Recreation Inc. has provided excellent guidance throughout the process. Their specific knowledge of arena construction and operations and their flexible team approach to problem solving has provided timely, cost effective solutions which kept the project moving forward despite some considerable challenges and the College’s demanding culture.

The company philosophy is to develop strong, long-term relationships with their clients and we are well on our way to that. I would not hesitate to recommend them to anyone.”

Sincerely,

   Stephen Thuringer,
   Ex. Director, Facilities
  October 2008

 

 

Mohawk

Unfortunately, the City of Brantford was placed in a “state of emergency” dealing with extreme high-water levels and having to close both our Civic Centre and Lions Park Ice rinks.  This news put our Tournament Convenor, Kelly Fullerton under enormous pressure to make decisions that would hopefully be beneficial to all. The Brantford Girls Hockey Associations prides itself on our tournament with over 120 teams that frequent the City annually and we want to thank you and your staff for the assistance provided over the past couple of days helping us to ensure we didn’t disappoint.

When we reached out to you Thursday afternoon John, you immediately took the measures necessary for us to relocate almost 2 full rinks of hockey to your ice pads.  You then again go above and beyond when you help us co-ordinate and reach out for some referees and timekeepers when our local association stepped back leaving us short.  Your staff today were more than cordial with all the games posted along with dressing room numbers in advance and each of the pads kept right on schedule with ice cleaning.    The average person has no idea how much time and co-ordination goes into planning a tournament of this magnitude, but we felt confident from the moment we made the call to you that you felt our pain and just got it done.  We can tell you that we made many calls that same day only to be given the run around or simply just ignored.  Again, on behalf of Kelly and our Association please pass along thanks to your staff and know that you made a huge difference that does not go unnoticed.

Sincerely,

   Cathy Drinkwater
   Registrar – Brantford Girls Hockey Association